Junction Oval Re-development
The redevelopment of Junction Oval brings Cricket Victoria’s high performance, administrative, development and training programs into one top-class location. The centre provides a second ICC-compliant first-class cricket ground for Melbourne, making it a great venue for hosting Sheffield Shield matches.
It will become a vibrant cricket hub, providing great facilities for female, Indigenous, and all-abilities cricket development, plus a training centre for regional players and coaches.
Lee Brothers Fencing is proud to have installed the new fencing at this iconic oval. Against the brand new oval surface the white powder coated steel picket boundary fence looks fantastic and will do so for many years to come. We also installed many metres of black PVC coated chain-wire fencing and matching gates.
Also previously known as the St Kilda Cricket Club Ground, the Junction Oval has been home of three VFL/AFL clubs: St Kilda (1897-1915 & 1918-1941), South Melbourne (1944-1946), and Fitzroy (1897-1966). The ground saw a total of 734 VFL/AFL matches and 6 finals games. The venue was the home base of the Melbourne Football Club for a period of time and has played host to a number of state cricket matches.
The Junction Oval has undergone many changes in appearance. As well as three main grandstands and undercover standing room, there was a large hill on the outer wing, allowing a record crowd of 46,973 in 1950 to watch St Kilda v Carlton. The 1990’s saw the undercover stand behind the goals demolished as well as the reduction of the size of the hill in the outer wing. The old scoreboard which was built in 1954/55 remains in place. The ground currently has a capacity of around 10,000 and includes two grandstands (one of which is closed to the public) and a small hill around the outer. The new building, which serves as the home of Victorian Cricket, is located at the northern end of the ground.
Check out this time-lapse video of the development in action!